The
Renaissance
Society

at The University of Chicago
PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS AN ARCHIVE SITE
Visit our new site for all current information.
 

Events

 
Choose Event Type:   
 
     20142013201220112010
2009200820072006200520042003200220012000
1999199819971996199519941993199219911990
1989198819871986198519841983198219811980
1979197819771976197519741973197219711970
1969196819671966196519641963196219611960
1959195819571956195519541953195219511950
1949194819471946194519441943194219411940
1939193819371936193519341933193219311930
1929192819271926192519241923192219211920
1919191819171916      

 

 
2007
 
Thu, Nov 15, 20077:00 pm
Concert
David Grubbs, electronics, and Susan Howe, reading
Souls of the Labadie Tract
 
Meanwhile, in Baghdad...
November 11 – December 21, 2007
 
 
Wed, Nov 14, 20077:00 pm
Screening
James Longley, Director
Iraq in Fragments, 2006
 
Meanwhile, in Baghdad...
November 11 – December 21, 2007
 
 
Sun, Nov 11, 20074:00 pm
Opening Reception, Reading, and Discussion
 
Meanwhile, in Baghdad...
November 11 – December 21, 2007
 
 
Mon, Oct 15, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Ensemble Noamnesia, with guests Vincent Royer (viola), Matthais Kaul (percussion), and Amnon Wolman (electronics)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Oct 14, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Ensemble Noamnesia, with guests Vincent Royer (viola) and David Grubbs (guitar, electronics)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Fri, Oct 12, 20077:00 pm
Concert
Alexei Pliousnine
Antarctic and Invincible
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Thu, Oct 11, 20076:00 pm
Lecture
Michael Gorra
Not a Pretty Thing: Joseph Conrad on the Conquest of the Earth
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Oct 7, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Birgit Ulher (trumpet), Lou Malozzi (turntables, electronics), and Michael Zerang (percussion)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Thu, Oct 4, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Ensemble Dal Niente, with guest Garth Davis (bass clarinet)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Wed, Oct 3, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Leonel Kaplan (trumpet and electronics)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Sep 30, 20077:00 pm
Mon, Oct 1, 20077:00 pm
Screening
Thierry Michel, Director
Mobutu King of Zaire1999
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Fri, Sep 28, 20078:00 pm
Concert
ICE Ensemble and The Moving Theater
XL (Xenakis/Ligeti)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Sep 23, 20077:00 pm
Screening
Thierry Michel, Director
Congo River2006
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Sep 23, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
Mark Nash
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Mon, Sep 17, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Ensemble N_JP, with guest Ko Ishikawa (sho), Kazuhisa Uchihashi (guitar and electronics), and Asimina Chremos (dance)
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Sep 16, 20074:00 pm
Opening Reception
 
Steve McQueen
September 16 – October 28, 2007
 
 
Sun, Jun 10, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
William Braham
Modern Color/Modern Architecture
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sun, Jun 3, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
Lane Relyea
The Work of Katharina Grosse
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sun, May 27, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
Sarah K. Rich
Jules Olitski: Trouble in Paradise
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sun, May 20, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
Nana Last
on Katharina Grosse
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sat, May 19, 20072:00 pm
Panel Discussion
Front Forty Press
On Graffitecture: Chicago Graffiti Artists Attack Photographic Spaces
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sat, May 12, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Orpheus in China
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Thu, May 10, 20078:00 pm
Fashion Show
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sat, May 5, 20078:00 pm
Concert
The JACK String Quartet
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Thu, May 3, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Ensemble JungeMusik and CUBE
The Brecht Concerts
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Sun, Apr 29, 20074:00 pm
Opening Reception and Discussion
 
Katharina Grosse
April 29 – June 10, 2007
 
 
Fri, Apr 6, 20077:00 pm
Concert
The Van Buren String Quartet
Ensemble Noamnesia

 
Allora and Calzadilla
March 04 – April 15, 2007
 
 
Fri, Mar 16, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Dennis Gonzalez Yells At Eels
 
Allora and Calzadilla
March 04 – April 15, 2007
 
 
Sun, Mar 4, 20074:00 pm
Opening Reception
 
Allora and Calzadilla
March 04 – April 15, 2007
 
 
Fri, Feb 16, 20078:00 pm
Concert
The Tabadol Project
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Tue, Feb 6, 20078:00 pm
Concert
Alvin Curran and the AGAM String Quartet
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Thu, Feb 1, 20075:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Gallery Talk
Scott Short and Hamza Walker
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Sun, Jan 28, 20072:00 pm
Lecture
Terry R. Myers
Abstraction: Here Now, Love Forever, Always
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Sat, Jan 27, 20079:00 pm
Concert
C. Spencer Yeh (voice, violin, and electronics)
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Fri, Jan 26, 20071:00 pm
Discussion
Terry R. Myers
On contemporary art and criticism
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
Sun, Jan 7, 20074:00 pm
Opening Reception and Discussion
 
Scott Short
January 07 – February 18, 2007
 
 
 
 
     20142013201220112010
2009200820072006200520042003200220012000
1999199819971996199519941993199219911990
1989198819871986198519841983198219811980
1979197819771976197519741973197219711970
1969196819671966196519641963196219611960
1959195819571956195519541953195219511950
1949194819471946194519441943194219411940
1939193819371936193519341933193219311930
1929192819271926192519241923192219211920
1919191819171916      

 

 
 

   
   
The Renaissance Society
is a contemporary art
museum free and
open to the public
Sun  Dec 16, 2018