at The University of Chicago
Visit our new site for all current information.

Mai-Thu Perret

"And every woman will be a walking synthesis of the universe"
April 30 – June 11, 2006


Wednesday, May 24, 2006, 8:00 pm


Works by Marta Ptaszynska and Kotoka Suzuki
Ensemble Pinotage

Location: The Renaissance Society
Admission: free

Ptaszynska and Suzuki are two of the University's prized music faculty. Both have international reputations and their works have been commissioned and performed by leading musical talents at festivals throughout the world. Trained as a percussionist, Ptaszynska's career spans almost 40 years during which she has written a complete spectrum of work both in terms of style and instrumentation. She has received numerous awards including First Prize from UNESCO in Paris at the International Rostrum of Composers for her string orchestra piece, Winter's Tale (1985). Suzuki composes for both instrumental and electro-acoustics as well as for dance and film, with a keen interest in combining visual elements and sound. She has been increasingly engaged in producing collaborative audio-visual works. Her honors include a DAAD residency in Berlin (2001-2002), first prize at the 30th Bourges International Electroacoustic Music and Sonic Art Competition in multimedia category (IMEB) (France), and Musica Nova International Electroacoustic Music Competition Honor Prize (Czech). Their compositions will be performed by Pinotage, an ensemble formed in 1998 that includes mezzo soprano Julia Bentley, harpist Alison Attar, and guest flutists Molly Barth and Mary Stolper. This concert will took place in gallery.



Alison Attar of "Pinotage," May 24, 2006



Molly Barth performs a piece composed by Kotoka Suzuki, May 24, 2006


The Renaissance Society
is a contemporary art
museum free and
open to the public
Fri  Jun 14, 2024